Ante Bet

Slot Mechanics

Ante Bet Slots Explained: How Enhanced Bets Work

An Ante Bet is an optional extra on your stake. You pay more for each spin, and in return the game changes something about how it plays. What it changes depends on the game, and it isn’t always the chance of a bonus.

Folsom Prison’s Toast Bet adds 20% and puts a Scatter on reel 2. That’s one Scatter, not the bonus itself. The spin still plays out, which is what separates it from buying your way straight into the bonus.

By · Published · Last reviewed:
Quick answer An Ante Bet is an optional extra stake that changes how your spin plays. Depending on the game, it might improve the odds of a bonus, guarantee a symbol or change the rules once the bonus starts. If the payment takes you straight into the bonus, it’s Feature Buy instead.

What is an Ante Bet?

The plainest version is the one that’s actually called Ante Bet. In Pots of Power: Mummy’s Treasure you pay 1.5 times your stake, and AvatarUX says the chance of the bonus doubles. That’s the whole deal.

It isn’t the same as simply raising your bet. A bigger bet makes everything bigger. An Ante Bet changes the rules of the spin, and in Folsom Prison and The Rave the ordinary symbol payouts still work off your base bet.

Lots of names, different rules

The name on the button won’t tell you much. Developers use Ante Bet, xBet, Toast Bet, Golden Bet, Chance x2, Power Play, Sneaky Boost and plenty more, and even one name can mean different things. Habanero calls it Super Bet in two games on this page, and they do very different amounts with it.

Diagram explaining how an Ante Bet modifies a paid spin compared with Feature Buy, with examples of trigger probability, guaranteed symbols, paid-spin conditions, bonus rules and different prices.
You pay more for a spin that plays under different rules. What changes, and the price, depends on the game.

What can the extra stake change?

Better bonus odds is the obvious one, but it’s only one of several, and some games do more than one.

Better odds of the bonus

Pots of Power and Barbarossa Beyond The Edge, with its Golden Bet, both double the chance of the bonus. Book of Hidden Tombs‘ Chance x2 and HelioPOPolis do the same for Free Spins, and Extra Chilli More Chilli‘s Power Play awards its Chilli Bonus Respins more often. None of them hands you the bonus. They change the odds of getting it.

Symbols and trigger conditions

Nolimit City, a studio I think keeps pushing boundaries, takes a different route. Folsom Prison‘s Toast Bet and The Rave‘s xBet both add 20% and guarantee a Scatter on reel 2. What you’re paying for is a symbol, not a stated change in the odds.

Hacksaw Gaming’s FeatureSpins work in a similar way at a much higher price. Mighty FeatureSpins in Epic Ze Zeus guarantee a Hand of Zeus symbol on each spin they cover, and Bad Blood FeatureSpins in Bullets and Bounty guarantee at least two VS or Bounty VS symbols. Sneaky Slots does something different again in Gopnik and Nip Tuck, where Sneaky Boost and Super Sneaky Boost change the trigger-symbol conditions for the normal and Super bonuses.

Changes inside the bonus

This is where Habanero’s two Super Bets part company. In Battle The Beast, Super Bet improves the odds of triggering Free Games, then the odds of a duel once they start.

King Frog Feast goes much further. As well as better trigger odds, Super Bet means 3, 4, 5 or 6 Scatters give 12, 15, 20 or 40 Free Games, the King Frog Wild moves two positions on each Free Game spin, and Tadpoles upgrade into Frogs more often. So “pay more, get the bonus more often” covers some of these games and nowhere near all of them.

How much does an Ante Bet cost?

There’s no standard price. Nolimit City’s two games here add 20%. Pots of Power and Barbarossa Beyond The Edge charge 1.5 times your stake, and Extra Chilli More Chilli’s Power Play costs five times a normal spin. Book of Hidden Tombs only says the wager goes up slightly, and my sources don’t give a price for either Habanero game.

HelioPOPolis’s own rules, in the version I checked, put the extra at 25%. A specialist review says 50%. I haven’t found anything that explains the difference, such as a different version of the game, so 25% is the figure from the game itself and 50% is unconfirmed.

Hacksaw’s FeatureSpins sit well above all of these, at 50 times your bet for Mighty FeatureSpins in Epic Ze Zeus and 60 times for Bad Blood FeatureSpins in Bullets and Bounty, in the versions I checked. A price that size doesn’t tell you whether you’re buying an enhanced spin or the bonus itself. You have to read what the option does.

Ante Bet vs Feature Buy

The test is simple. After you pay, does a spin still have to play out? If it does, it’s an enhanced bet. If the payment drops you straight into the bonus, it’s Feature Buy. That’s why Hacksaw’s FeatureSpins count as enhanced bets despite the price: the spins still play, just with the symbols guaranteed.

ELK’s X-iter menu in Concrete Cowboys puts both on the same screen. Bonus Hunt costs 2.5 times your stake and gives more than three times the chance of the bonus. Super Bonus costs 250 times and takes you straight into the Super Bonus game. One is an enhanced spin. The other is Feature Buy.

Book of Hidden Tombs is the same story in one game. Chance x2 is an enhanced bet, and the same game also sells Free Spins outright, for 100 times your bet, or Super Free Spins for 200 times, in versions where buying is offered. It isn’t offered at GB-licensed casinos.

Does an Ante Bet change RTP or volatility?

Not in any way you can predict from the button. Folsom Prison and The Rave show why. Their enhanced bets are the same rule, 20% extra for a guaranteed Scatter on reel 2, and yet the UK-certified RTP figures move in different directions.

UK RTP with and without the enhanced bet
Game / UK version Base RTP Enhanced-bet RTP Difference
Folsom Prison UK standard 96.07% Toast Bet 96.03% −0.04
Folsom Prison UK DX1 94.01% Toast Bet 94.04% +0.03
The Rave UK standard 96.09% xBet 96.24% +0.15
The Rave UK DX1 94.29% xBet 94.27% −0.02

DX1 is the lower-RTP UK version of each game. The differences are a few hundredths of a percentage point, apart from The Rave’s standard version at 0.15, and two go up while two go down. None of this tells you anything about volatility or how often you’ll win. The figures are published RTP and nothing more.

Does it change symbol payouts?

Not in these two. Folsom Prison and The Rave keep ordinary symbol payouts based on the base bet, so the extra 20% isn’t paying for bigger symbol wins. That’s a separate question from RTP, which can still differ, and it isn’t a rule for other games.

Are Ante Bets available in Great Britain?

Yes, in some UK versions. Folsom Prison and The Rave both have their enhanced bet in UK-certified versions, though that doesn’t mean every operator switches it on. For the other games on this page, my evidence doesn’t come from GB versions, so I’m not treating them as GB examples.

Two GB rules matter here. Feature Buy isn’t offered at GB-licensed casinos, so options like Concrete Cowboys’ 250x Super Bonus aren’t part of the picture. And the stake limits of £5 a spin if you’re 25 or over and £2 if you’re 18 to 24 cover what you stake on a spin, so an Ante Bet’s extra counts towards them.

Ante Bet and Enhanced Bet examples compared

Enhanced bets in games I’ve checked
Game Developer term Cost What changes
Folsom Prison
Toast Bet / xBet 1.2x (+20%) Guarantees a Scatter on reel 2; ordinary symbol payouts stay based on the base bet.
The Rave
xBet 1.2x (+20%) Guarantees a Scatter on reel 2; symbol payouts stay unchanged.
Pots of Power: Mummy’s Treasure
Ante Bet 1.5x (+50%) Doubles the bonus chance.
Barbarossa Beyond The Edge
Golden Bet 1.5x (+50%) Doubles the chance of hitting Free Spins.
Extra Chilli More Chilli
Power Play 5x Chilli Bonus Respins are awarded more often.
Battle The Beast
Super Bet Not stated in my sources Better odds of triggering Free Games, and of a duel during them.
King Frog Feast
Super Bet Not stated in my sources Better Free Games trigger odds; 12/15/20/40 Free Games for 3/4/5/6 Scatters; the King Frog Wild moves two positions per spin; Tadpoles upgrade more often.
Book of Hidden Tombs
Chance x2 Slightly higher; exact figure not stated Doubles the chance of triggering Free Spins.

Ante Bet FAQ

Does paying more guarantee the bonus?

Not in any of the enhanced bets on this page. Folsom Prison and The Rave guarantee one Scatter, and others improve the odds. Only paying for the bonus outright, which is Feature Buy, guarantees you get in.

Does an Ante Bet improve my chances of winning overall?

Better odds of reaching a bonus isn’t the same as better overall odds, and the option on its own tells you nothing about volatility. In the UK examples here, the published RTP barely moves either way.

Sources reviewed

I checked these games against their own rules, developer game sheets, UK certification records and game pages. Some evidence is only available in-game or through authenticated sources; the public links identify the games.

Nolimit City

Evidence reviewed: In-game rules, Nolimit City game-sheet material and UK certification records covering the +20% Toast Bet / xBet, the guaranteed reel-2 Scatter, ordinary symbol payouts staying unchanged, and separate UK base and Toast Bet RTP figures.
Evidence reviewed: In-game rules, Nolimit City game-sheet and help material and UK certification records covering the +20% xBet, the guaranteed reel-2 Scatter, symbol payouts staying unchanged, and separate UK base and xBet RTP figures.

AvatarUX

Evidence reviewed: AvatarUX game-sheet and client material: Ante Bet costs 1.5x and doubles the bonus chance.
Evidence reviewed: Current in-game material: the option doubles the chance of entering Free Spins and costs +25% in the version I checked. A specialist review reports +50%. I haven’t found what explains the difference, so the price may depend on the version or configuration.

Peter & Sons

Evidence reviewed: Peter & Sons game sheet: Golden Bet costs 1.5x the standard bet and doubles the chance of hitting Free Spins.

Habanero

Evidence reviewed: In-game rules: Super Bet increases the odds of triggering Free Games and the odds of a duel during Free Games.
Evidence reviewed: In-game rules: Super Bet increases Free Games trigger odds, changes the 3/4/5/6-Scatter awards to 12/15/20/40 Free Games, moves the King Frog Wild two positions per Free Game spin and increases how often Tadpoles upgrade to Frogs.

BGaming

Evidence reviewed: BGaming’s official game material and rules: Chance x2 slightly increases the wager and doubles the probability of triggering Free Spins. BGaming’s rules and release material also list paid Free Spins at 100x and Super Free Spins at 200x, covered in the Feature Buy guide.

Big Time Gaming

Evidence reviewed: Big Time Gaming’s own material: Power Play costs 5x stake and awards Chilli Bonus Respins more often.

Sneaky Slots

Evidence reviewed: Sneaky Slots developer material: Sneaky Boost and Super Sneaky Boost change the trigger-symbol conditions for the normal and Super bonuses.

Hacksaw Gaming

Evidence reviewed: The in-game menu in the version I checked: Mighty FeatureSpins cost 50x the current bet and guarantee a Hand of Zeus symbol on each activated spin.
Evidence reviewed: The in-game menu in the version I checked: Bad Blood FeatureSpins cost 60x the current bet and guarantee at least two VS, Bounty VS or a combination of both symbols.

ELK Studios

Evidence reviewed: ELK’s own material: the 2.5x Bonus Hunt gives more than three times the chance to trigger the Bonus. The in-game X-iter menu also shows a 250x Super Bonus option that guarantees entry to the Super Bonus game. Used here to show one menu holding both an enhanced spin and a bonus purchase.

Gambling Commission

Evidence reviewed: Great Britain maximum stake of £5 per game cycle for customers aged 25 and over (from 9 April 2025) and £2 for customers aged 18 to 24 (from 21 May 2025). The guidance treats further stakes within the same game cycle as counting towards the limit; it doesn’t name Ante Bets specifically.
Our methodology

Where this guide comes from

I check each game’s own rules for what the extra stake costs, what it changes and whether a spin still plays out, and I use UK certification records and Gambling Commission material for the GB details. Where sources disagree, as they do on HelioPOPolis’s price, I say so rather than pick one. Read the full research methodology